OPENING HOURS: MON - FRI 10 - 4, SAT - SUN 10 - 2.
Welcome to the Cambridge Museum
Cambridge was named after the Duke of Cambridge, Commander in Chief of the British Army in 1864, and it was established as a frontier town after the New Zealand Wars in the Waikato came to an end.
We have an extensive collection of artefacts and archives relating to the history of Cambridge, its districts and people. Our willing and enthusiastic volunteers work with our two paid staff to build a rich archival resource of particular interest to students, family and social historians.
Our policy is to collect Cambridge-related archives, artefacts and photographs, donations of which are always welcome.
Cambridge Museum’s focus is on “Bonding People with Place.”
The Cambridge Historical Society Inc. own the collections and operate the Cambridge Museum with support from the community and the Waipa District Council. We invite you to explore our site and its different sections, and visit again.
Come and visit us at 24 Victoria Street, Cambridge
Open Weekdays 10am – 4pm, Saturdays & Sundays 10am – 2pm
Admission is free but a donation is always appreciated.